• Superintendent Julie Critz Named Administrator of Excellence 

    The Minnesota Association of School Administrators (MASA) has named Julie Critz, Superintendent of the Alexandria Public Schools, a 2020 Administrator of Excellence. Critz received this award in recognition of her leadership, concern for students, and active involvement in professional and community affairs. She was honored at a statewide recognition ceremony during the MASA/MASE Spring Conference, March 12-13, 2020, at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest in Brooklyn Park. 

    Critz has worked in K-12 education for 35 years as a teacher, elementary and secondary principal, and district administrator. She has served as Superintendent of the Alexandria Public Schools since 2015. Prior to the superintendency, she served as Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning for eight years. As Assistant Superintendent, she provided oversight and development of district curriculum, the student assessment program and staff development opportunities. She has been with the Alexandria schools since 2001.  

    Critz was instrumental in leading the district in two successful building bond referendums and has been a catalyst in building business partnerships for the Academies of Alexandria, the school district’s new high school small learning communities program. Additionally, she has been a key player in facilitating and implementing the district’s community-based strategic planning initiative. 

    Critz is an active MASA member. She currently serves on the MASA Legislative Committee and has served on the Executive Development and Member Services Committees. In 2017 Critz was named a recipient of the Kay E. Jacobs Memorial Award for her leadership and involvement with MASA. Critz continues to stay actively involved in her community through membership in Rotary, Lakes Area Professional Women and serving on the Alexandria Area Economic Development Commission. 

    Critz earned a master’s degree in Elementary Education from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. She received a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from the University of Minnesota-Morris and a sixth-year certificate in educational administration from St. Cloud State University. 

    Each year, MASA recognizes members for their contribution to public education. MASA is a professional organization of Minnesota’s school leaders, including superintendents, assistant superintendents, directors of special education, and other central office administrators, as well as state department administrators, college and university professors, and other educators throughout Minnesota dedicated to educational leadership for students. 

    Learn more about the 2020 MASA award recipients here: